top of page

Chakra Healing

If you’ve ever taken a yoga or meditation class, had an energy healing session like reiki or Chakra Balancing, or just watched online videos about those subjects, you’ve no doubt heard about chakras and the role they play in the flow of energy in your body.

You may have also learned that it’s important to keep your chakras open, or unblocked.

But what exactly are chakras and how do they affect your physical and emotional well-being?

In Sanskrit, the word “chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to the energy centers in your body. These wheels or disks of spinning energy each correspond to certain nerve bundles and major organs.

To function at their best, your chakras need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra.

There are seven main chakras that run along your spine. They start at the root, or base, of your spine and extend to the crown of your head.

Root chakra

The root chakra, or Muladhara, is located at the base of your spine. It provides you with a base or foundation for life, and it helps you feel grounded and able to withstand challenges. Your root chakra is responsible for your sense of security and stability.

Sacral chakra

The sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana, is located just below your belly button. This chakra is responsible for your sexual and creative energy. It’s also linked to how you relate to your emotions as well as the emotions of others.

Solar plexus chakra

The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura, is located in your stomach area. It’s responsible for confidence and self-esteem, as well as helping you feel in control of your life.

Heart chakra

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is located near your heart, in the center of your chest. It comes as no surprise that the heart chakra is all about our ability to love and show compassion.

Throat chakra

The throat chakra, or Vishuddha, is located in your throat. This chakra has to do with our ability to communicate verbally.

Third eye chakra

The third eye chakra, or Ajna, is located between your eyes. You can thank this chakra for a strong gut instinct. That’s because the third eye is responsible for intuition. It’s also linked to imagination.

Crown chakra

The crown chakra, or Sahasrara, is located at the top of your head. Your Sahasrara represents your spiritual connection to yourself, others, and the universe. It also plays a role in your life’s purpose.

There are several ways blocked or unbalanced chakras can be felt. The symptoms are both physical and mental.

Some of the physical symptoms include:

  • headache

  • neck pain

  • fatigue

  • back pain

  • digestive issues

  • arthritis

  • constipation

  • colon problems

Some of the emotional effects of blocked chakras are:

  • feeling disconnected from others or from your body

  • feeling stuck in negative thoughts

  • low self-esteem

  • finding it difficult to manifest your desires

  • in extreme cases, it can lead to anxiety and depression as well

After your chakras have been cleared, you should feel lighter, more balanced, and more centered. You may also notice an improvement in your physical health, as well as a sense of inner peace and well-being.

Chakra healing can relax your mind and body, relieve tension, and make you feel more connected with yourself as well as others. If you had any physical symptoms like headache or back pain before, you may also experience relief from the pain. When done on a regular basis, you may feel more in control of your life, make better decisions, feel healthy and enjoy your life to the fullest!

Chakras are the main energy centers of the body and when they are blocked or unbalanced we may experience both mental and physical symptoms. Methods of healing your chakras range from meditation and yoga to aromatherapy, chakra healing with crystals, and sound therapy. Find the method that resonates with you. Remember, the goal is not to achieve perfection, but to live a happy, healthy, and fulfilling life.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page